LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > General Discussions

Unread 06-19-2004, 02:23 AM   #1
Frank H.
User

Post How do you deal with rust prevention vs. "vigin wood"

Gosh that's a provocative title, sorry about that.

I'm a newbie here, I lurked on the "old" LugerForum for a few years and got good guidance from many including Thor (Ted), and now I've finally taken the plunge and have a BEAUTIFUL 1917 nearly mint artillery Luger I'll be picking up tomorrow (Kalifornia here treats a 90 year old collectible same as a "Saturday night special", LOL), and just 4 days ago I finished the "cool off 10 day wait" to pick up a 1970's era Mauser 6" Luger re-issue, also better than my expectations in condition.

(As we all know, it does pay to have close dialog with folks putting things up for auction to make sure you aren't disappointed...)

This is probably one of the most basic questions that all of us have, "How to prevent rust and keep our guns protected", yet with a Luger, how to not get that "oil spill" look going on the wood grips...

Are most Luger grips oil finished (boiled linseed etc) and somewhat impervious to Breakfree etc, or what do you guys more familiar than me recommend (beyond the obvious of "go lightly, don't get stuff on the grips than can be avoided").

(I did a test of 30 or so gun oils and greases a couple of years back for rust prevention and found Breakfree and Rem-Oil to be the best at rust prevention, and yes even above Cleanzoil which I tried based on recommendations some years ago. Granted, any oil is miles better than nothing, but those were the two that stood head and sholders above, in a one month steam and salt water test on exposed steel and blued stripper clips).