LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > All P-08 Military Lugers

Unread 09-11-2011, 11:54 PM   #1
xoxoroses
New User

Default Interested in a Luger.. Where to start?

Hi! I am interested in purchasing my 1st Luger. However, I am overwhelmed with all of the choices. Does anyone have any advise as to how to narrow my options?

1) I would like to spend no more than $1500
2) I want a shooter so I am not too concerned with mismatched numbers.

Thanks!

BTW: I am a total newbie here so ANY and ALL advice would be greatly appreciated!
xoxoroses is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-12-2011, 05:49 AM   #2
Ice
User

Welcome to the forum! Many members advertise shooting Lugers in the For Sale section at a fair price. Generally speaking, the ones made by Mauser are of better more modern materials but if you don't use ultra hot ammo then any of them would be okay. A nice looking shooter should cost no more than $500 to $800 or so.

Charlie
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-12-2011, 07:02 AM   #3
Edward Tinker
Super Moderator
Eternal Lifer
LugerForum
Patron

Thanked 4,507 Times in 2,081 Posts

I think I have shot more DWM's than anything else and never had an issue, although they are a bit 'older'

Ask them if they have shot it, many times I will sell a mismatch as a 'shooter' and never actually have shot it (although I say that in my ad).

Figure out, any luger? Or from a specific era? i.e. WW1, Weimar, WW2, commercial?
caliber? 9mmis most prevalent and cheaper to shoot than 7.65mm (30 luger)

Read through here and see what says, other folks have asked for the same thing you are looking for and see their comments.

Ed
Author of Veteran Bring Backs Vol I, Vol II, Vol III and Vol IV

Edward Tinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-12-2011, 10:04 AM   #4
mrerick
Super Moderator - Patron
LugerForum
Life Patron