LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 08-10-2001, 02:48 PM   #1
Ray Clawson

Default Luger dis-assembly

I've decided to field strip my 2 Lugers this weekend(it's too damn hot to do anything else here in Texas). One's a s/42 and the other is a DWM military dated 1917. I'm a virgin; this is my first time to do it. I suspect that neither one of the guns has been taken down since WAY before Elvis passed away;].

Anyway, I just looked at the instructions on this site for disassembly and just a little confused by the line:

>. Hit the frame with the rear of the screw driver to get the Safety Catch out.

Unread 08-10-2001, 03:12 PM   #2
Johnny Peppers
User

Default Re: Luger dis-assembly

Taking the safety lever out goes beyond field stripping. Field stripping can be accomplished without any additional tools if you have a tough thumb to remove and install the firing pin and spring. I would not suggest taking the pistol down any farther than removing the barrel and receiver from the frame, the toggle assembly from the receiver, and the firing pin and spring from the breechblock. By the way, the firing pin and spring come out easier with the additional help of a secrwdriver. You will probably want to check under the grips for any signs of rust, but be very careful with the left grip and do not break the piece off that is under the safety lever. Just as you start lifting up on the left grip also start pulling it down and away from the safety lever.