LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Off Topic & Other Firearms

Unread 02-15-2012, 07:48 PM   #1
cdmech
User

Default New to me Broomhandle

I bought Mauser C96 Broomhandle to keep my Luger company. Today I got to shoot a few rounds of new Fiocchi 88gr. 7.63 ammo through it and I love it!
I do have a question about how the trigger functions and since there has been some C96 discussions here lately was hoping someone familiar with these could help.
The hammer doesn't always drop when the triggger is pulled. You can feel a very distinct "click" but nothing will happen. The next pull everything will work fine. I'm studying the mechanism trying to better understand how it works, and don't see any obviously worn or ill fitting parts. The same "click" can be felt in the trigger even if the hammer isn't cocked and seems to be made between the lock frame and the disconnector as it lifts the sear.
Is such a "click" normal, or do I have parts that aren't fitting well?
The gun is a MM, but all the numbered parts on the lock match the body. The barrel/extension and locking block match each other, but not the rest of the gun.
Any common problems that might keep the hammer from dropping I should look for?
Thanks for any input.
Marc
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image0332.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	133.8 KB
ID:	24314  

cdmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2012, 08:01 PM   #2
alvin
User

Pull the trigger and feel the "click" is not normal on this variation (only normal on those pre-1900 ones).