LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Shooting and Reloading

Unread 02-03-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
Brodie
User

Default What ammo?

Hi

I am useing now for my luger 140grs subsonic, now ican get 150grs subsonic
Is this bad for the luger or not its just 10grs but want to be sure if its not destroying my luger

Thanks
Unread 02-03-2013, 01:18 PM   #2
Curly1
User

Welcome to the forum

Most shoot 115gr, with Winchester white box being the prefered brand.

Gary
Curly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2013, 02:30 PM   #3
Brodie
User

This is what i use at the moment

Unread 02-03-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
kzullick
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Im no expert, but I would be hesitant on shooting modern hi-power ammunition in older weapons. Todays powder charges vs 70-100+ year old steel is a disaster waiting to happen. I would stick to the white box Winchester.
kzullick is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
Brodie
User

We don,t have that here in Holland
Unread 02-03-2013, 06:39 PM   #6
rhuff
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

Will your Luger cycle reliably with sub-sonic loads? I would try to find a lighter bullet weight....something like 115-124gr if possible. I don't have any idea what ammo is and is not available to you in Holland.
rhuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2013, 07:04 PM   #7
Vlim
Lifetime
LugerForum Patron

Thanked 3,873 Times in 1,184 Posts

I shot Winchester White Box in the Netherlands for almost 3 years It's around.

I also used Sellier & Bellot 124gr 9x19 for more than 5 years, without problems. The 145gr will work and cycle ok, just shoots a little low.

Any shot you take with your luger can possibly kill it. So if you want to be safe, don't shoot it.
Vlim is offline   Reply With Quote
The following member says Thank You to Vlim for your post:
Unread 02-04-2013, 10:41 AM   #8
singleshotman
User