upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Swiss Lugers

Unread 04-27-2007, 09:46 PM   #1
Mike B
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Default Stamped Take Down Lever

After 40 plus years of collecting and admiring Lugers, believe it or not, this is my first Swiss. So I will be the first to admit that I have very little knowledge of what is right or not right when it comes to judging this Luger. My big question is the take down lever; it is not stamped. The seller, a very well respected dealer, tells me that all four of his remaning '06 Cross in Shield Swiss are this way. I also called a friend who owns a Cross in Shield as well, and his take down lever is also unstamped. I would much appreciate feedback from the forum members who own similar Swiss Lugers and whether or not their take down lever is stamped. Here are a few pictures of the Swiss Luger.

Mike B is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-28-2007, 09:55 AM   #2
Lugerdoc
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

You may want to remove from frame to see if it is numbered internally. Since these M06 lugers were made by DWM for the Swiss, I would have expected the standard DWM serialization and inspector's markings of the period, unless later reworked by the Swiss. TH
Unread 04-28-2007, 12:41 PM   #3
Pete Ebbink
User

Hi Mike,

This topic came up recently in a discussion over on Jan Still's Gun Boards as well :

http://luger.gunboards.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=11321

A member, named Armin from Germany, indicated he had seen lots of M1906's and even M1900's with un-numbered TD levers and the 2-digit stamping on the trigger side plate upside-down (i.e. top of numbers pointing towards the side of the Luger instead of away from the side of the Luger).

BTW...regarding the P-release date stamping on Swiss Lugers; you will see them in 3 possible configurations :