LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 03-31-2016, 03:48 PM   #1
Flintlock2016
User

Default Help Again Please

Hello All
I've been sent some photos of another luger which I may buy if it's ok. As I said in my other post I'm new to lugers and know very little if nothing about them so I'm hoping that once again you wonderful guys out there will help.
I've not seen the pistol myself but I've uploaded some photos I've been sent and would love to have your comments.
The fifth photo shows some damage or blemish around the serial number and Birmingham Proof mark on the side of the gun. Any ideas what that may be?
I live in the UK, and the price of the gun is about equivalent to your 1370 dollars.
many thanks
John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a1.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	105.7 KB
ID:	57639  

Name:	a2.jpg
Size:	125.3 KB
ID:	57640  

Name:	a3.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	57641  

Name:	a4.jpg
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	57642  

Name:	a5.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	57643  

Name:	a6.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	45.4 KB
ID:	57644  

Flintlock2016 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-31-2016, 04:00 PM   #2
kurusu
User

Prices in the US of A and in the UK are not really comparable l'm afraid. Anyways, that pistol as all the looks of post war Deutsch Volkspolizei (vopo for short) use.
kurusu is offline   Reply With Quote
The following member says Thank You to kurusu for your post:
Unread 03-31-2016, 04:45 PM   #3
4 Scale
User

The finish appears to have received moderate to heavy buffing and has been re-blued as evidenced by bluing over pitting. The grips are not original and appear to be Vopo (East German).

The other key questions I'd have in trying to evaluate the pistol would be markings/condition of the magazine, bore condition, and which parts do/do not match.