LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Shooting and Reloading

Unread 06-24-2002, 02:33 AM   #1
Jack Owens
User

Post 7.63 Mauser (C96)

Dear Friends,

I have a couple of Broomhandles (C96 Mausers for complete novices) but am running into problems in getting 7.63mm ammunition for them. I've had some Fiocchi on order from Graf & Sons, Inc. for a couple of months now but nothing comes through.

Does anyone know of any dependable sources?

Regards,
Jack
Jack Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-24-2002, 08:07 AM   #2
unspellable
User

Haunt the gun shows. I used to use Remington 7.63 Mauser, there might be some around. Fioccchi loads it, but they run a batch once every so often which probably explains why you can't get it just now by ordering. There will be dealers here and there with it on the shelf. Hansen or somebody loads it here in the US the last time I looked.

S&B and Winchester load the 7.62 Tokarev which will work in a C96 if they chamber OK. I bought some of the Winchester stuff recently at a good price for one of the less common calibers. You can get Chinese 7.62 Tokarev in non-reloadable cases. I don't view the Chinese stuff as the best quality.

I avoid the military surplus stuff. There is a rumour that S&B loaded some military (not civilian) stuff that was a bit hotter than you really want. And there's always the problem of corrosive primers.

Before you shoot it check the condition of the corners on the locking lugs. They tend to get rounded off with a lot of milage and need to be squared up again. I've had at least one with a weak recoil spring too, but I don't now of any quick and easy way to tell you how to check it.

unspellable
unspellable is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-24-2002, 09:46 AM   #3
Dwight Gruber
User

Thanked 1,281 Times in 423 Posts
[quote]Originally posted by unspellable:
<strong>