LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 10-26-2001, 11:28 AM   #1
Denny Cox

Default Need a little help with 1937 S/42

Hi everyone, I'm new to both this forum and Lugers in general, so please excuse the overwhelming stench of "novice" coming from your computer. I spent some time yesterday examining an S/42 in pretty good shape. The guy told me it was made in 1937. I do know that '42' is the code for Mauser-Werke AG, Oberndorf on the Neckar, and was later replaced by the 'byf' code, but what does the 'S' stand for and what is the correct letter code for 1937? I would appreciate any and all info (or links) concerning S/42-marked Lugers as it may become the first one I buy. Does $425 soung like too much? It was refinished professionally and has all matching numbers, good grips, shiny bore and deep rifling. I want to start with something I can spend quality time with on the firing line. Thanks in advance for any help you may have. My profile and bad photo are up for viewing, thanks for letting me be a part of this group. Take care....Denny

Unread 10-26-2001, 11:50 AM   #2
John Sabato
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Thanked 2,304 Times in 1,096 Posts
Default Welcome. You have found a good Luger at a reasonable price Denny.

It is a great shooter because Mauser never made any junk. The fact that somebody has prettied it up for you makes the price that much more attractive.

42, S/42, and byf, were all used by Mauser as war-time production codes and any of them are correct. I don't have specific knowledge that the codes really meant anything, and perhaps someone else has some documentation to show what they might mean, but I think they were just random codes to hide the origin/location of where weapons were being produced during the war to keep the bombers away.