LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Unit Markings

Unread 03-09-2008, 07:15 PM   #1
mhinz00
User

Default Recently Found Luger

Recently found this luger in my grandfathers attic after he passed away a few months ago. no one knew he even had it. never talked about it so we dont know anything about it. SN: 8503. Ive been trying a little while now to try and figure them out but im fairly new to this and not quite sure what im looking at. i was wondering if someone could tell me what the markings mean on the grip here. Here is the link to my photobucket album where the rest of the pics are. some are yes blurry and hard to see, i need to take some better pics:

http://s93.photobucket.com/albums/l52/mhinz00/Luger/

mhinz00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2008, 09:42 PM   #2
tenbears
User

The markings that are x out were for a munitions unit. And the S.B. 108 is probadly for a Weimar Police unit in Berlin. The 108 is the weapon number. What interest me is your 1921 chamber date.
tenbears is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2008, 09:55 PM   #3
Ron Smith
User

Dow,

M.I. was part of the police unit. S.B.M.I.2.8.108. translates to:

Schutzpolizei Berlin police section (3) Wilmersdorf in Mitte (center) group 8th Centuria (district) weapon #108

Later these units were reorganized and consolidated, so parts of the mark were no longer correct and X'd out.

The 1921 production date and "a" suffixed SN indicate that this was one of the 40,000 1920 and 1921 dated lugers to be procured for police issue.

Ron
I Still Need DWM side plate #49... if anyone runs across a nice one.

What ~Rudyard Kipling~ said...
Ron Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2008, 10:00 PM   #4
tenbears
User

Learn something every day. Thanks Ron
tenbears is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2008, 10:08 PM   #5
mhinz00
User