LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 04-24-2002, 09:13 PM   #1
CETME
User

Default Newbie Help

What kind of Luger can I buy for $500-$600. I'm still very new to Lugers, and im looking for a "shooter" to start off with. It will be shot, and enjoyed, so i dont want anything too collectable for my first time. Dont want to make any mistakes and a nice collector. What condition "shooter" can i get for that price? ideas? advice? thanks in advance guys!

also, what luger books do you recommend?

Lars

Unread 04-24-2002, 09:59 PM   #2
TheRomanhistorian
User

Default Re: Newbie Help

Hello there Lars!

I got a nice shooter Luger for $570 at a local pawnshop when I turned 21 (about 2 weeks or so ago). Mine's a mismatched gun with a date of 1921 and it's in pretty good condition. The only problem with it is that it is entirely too much fun to shoot. Depends though on where you live, I live in Idaho and I have seen a total of 3 Lugers in my life so far and all three have been in pawnshops... Just look around and hopefully you can find one, or as I have heard talk to either Tom Heller or Ralph Shattuck among others (I would have gone through them but I was in the pawn shop, saw the Luger and had to have it right then and there...an impulse buy I do not regret.)

Michael Ng

Unread 04-24-2002, 10:05 PM   #3
Frank
RIP
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

Default Good Advice, Michael :) (EOM)

Unread 04-24-2002, 10:54 PM   #4
Brandon Metcalf

Lars,I'd go wit Jan C. Still's books the complete set (around $120.00). Imperial Lugers,Wiemar & early Nazi Lugers,and Third Reich Lugers! Should be some good reading! Might also want to pick up titles by Fred Datig,and Charles Kenyon. Hope this helps!

Best Regards,Brandon

Unread 04-24-2002, 10:57 PM   #5
Roadkill
User