LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Artillery Lugers

Unread 02-28-2018, 02:42 PM   #1
howardjia
User

Default 1918 DWM artillery question

Thanks for letting me join this forum. I am new to Luger.
I find a very nice all matching 1918 DWM artillery luger in local gun store. It looks nice but I have a question.
There is no letter (a or b) under the serial number on the bottom of the barrel and the frame. Is that correct? And I can see a circle N on the frame. What does it mean?
I am attaching a picture from this forum which show that letter under the serial number.
Sorry, I cannot take a picture of the gun that I saw.
Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20170613-170533_resized.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	71331  

howardjia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2018, 02:53 PM   #2
HerrKaiser
User

Firstly, the "circle" N should be a crown N which is the commercial nitro proof stating that this model is meant for modern smokeless powder. TBH more pictures including a takedown of the piece and pictures of the markings (numbers, symbols, etc) will help the most. Plenty of good videos on youtube to help show you how to take down your luger properly. Be sure to take clear, quality pictures and describe in detail symbols you cant seem to get clear pics of. Also recommend you choose from one of the large variety of Luger identification books out there, they will help you immensely. Believe me I have come a long way in just 2 months since I purchased my luger in January and still have a very long way to go.
HerrKaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-28-2018, 03:15 PM   #3
DavidJayUden
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

Thanked 1,414 Times in 887 Posts