LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > All P-08 Military Lugers

Unread 01-29-2014, 03:08 PM   #1
danielsand
User

Default Erfurt 1918

Hello all.

Let me introduce myself before asking questions. I am a vet, 58 years 'young', and I grew up in Europe. Both of my parents were in the military, and my earliest "toy" that I can remember, was an Artilery Luger, my Mom's war trophy. She sold it when we were about to move back stateside (and after my father's untimely demise).

I collect military firearms, and I shoot them all (I guess I am not a "real collector"!).

Since I was "parabellumless" (my mother ALWAYS called it "Parabellum") for most of my life, I naturally craved to get one, but my "collecting" took me in the different direction.

This past X-mas, a family friend showed up with a present! 1918 Erfurt in MINT condition, with two mags (one matched, one mismatched), and the original holster, with loading tool.

And now the question: My new Parabellum has all matching numbers, and a suffix M after serial #69XX. The grips are also stamped with the last two #s of the serial. Holster has BAXI on the inside of the flap (I researched, and I know what it means, and I also speak German), but I was not able to find out any more info about the pistol. It also has the crown with "RC" under it, so I learned that it was "arsenal reworked" probably after WW1.