LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > General Discussions

Unread 01-10-2011, 01:40 AM   #1
eesnyder
New User

Default Luger Safeties (internal and otherwise)

[I am new to the group and Lugers in general, so bear with me...]

I have been looking at some of the animations and diagrams on this site trying to ascertain what sort of safety features have been incorporated into the Luger design. I've learned that early Lugers had both an external thumb safety and a grip safety; the latter was omitted in the '08. Some (all?) models also incorporate a magazine safety...

With the removal of the grip safety, are there any internal safety mechanisms that would prevent accidental discharge if the weapon were dropped with the thumb safety disengaged?

I am thinking about some of the internal safeties in Glock pistols, for example. I am not an expert but I understand there are devices that block the striker/firing pin from impinging on the primer of a chambered round as the result of inertial acceleration. The block is pulled out of engagement as slack is taken up during the trigger pull.

Are these types of internal safeties strictly a modern (post-war) invention or do they date back to the early automatic pistols?

Thanks,
eesnyder
eesnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-2011, 06:08 AM   #2
alanint
User

Thanked 1,916 Times in 1,192 Posts

There are no additional safety features on the Luger line other than the power of the sear spring to prevent a possible discharge if the pistol were dropped with the striker under tention and the safety off.
There were certain pistols made pre war that had firing pin block safeties such as the Walther pistols, (P-38, PPK, PP) but these did not come into play unless the safety was engaged.