LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 03-19-2001, 09:55 PM   #1
Doug Wozny

Default What Has Happen To Quality

Maybe it is because I am a quality engineer or do other people also notice that you pay your hard earned money for things and get really poor quality products. I have been looking for some replacement grips for one of my Lugers. I have try Gun Parts, SARCO and C. M. R. International. Every time I get grips that don't even come close to fitting. Now I realize that some fitting may be required but when the grips are too small you can not ADD wood to them. Making grips is not rocket sceince and it isn't like the engineering drawings for the grips are locked up in the KGB vaults in Moscow. All you have to do is get a copy of Masstafeln zur Pistole 08 from Joachim Gortz. I recently got a reproduction artillery shoulder stock and holster set. The stock would not fit on my artillery Luger, the magazines went into the spare magazine pouch only by using extreme force and had to be removed using pliers (luckly I used new manufactured magazines) and the flap could not be secured with the magazines in the pouch. I also order a replica 1900 U.S. Test Luger holster from a holster maker in El Paso, Texas. Again good money bad product. The drawing for this holster is in Meadow's book entitled "U.S. Military Holsters and Pistol Cartridge Boxes" page 243. Doesn't anyone do any research anymore? Oh well, I guess nothing will change. I spent most of my time at work trying to get vendors to do the job right so why would it be different for Luger parts and accessories. I feel a little better now but I see no end to my search for REAL quality Luger replacement parts and accessories. I guess no one care. And when the Luger was being built they did care.

The Wizard

Unread 03-19-2001, 10:04 PM   #2
Hugh
RIP