LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > General Discussions

Unread 09-01-2003, 12:35 PM   #1
John F.
User

Question Single best reference book?

Hi, I'm new to Lugers, and don't plan to collect them extensively, but would like to learn about them. If you had to pick one reasonably available reference book that gives an excellent overview of Luger pistols, which would it be? I don't mind spending up to $100 for a really good book if needed, as long as it has lots of quality information. Thanks in advance for your recommendations!
John
Unread 09-01-2003, 01:31 PM   #2
Vlim
Lifetime
LugerForum Patron

Thanked 3,988 Times in 1,205 Posts
Hi,

John Walters 'Luger' and 'The Luger Story' are a
good starting point.

Of course there is the Jan Still series if you want to get deeper into a certain era and a very good book by Martens & De Vries about the Dutch Luger.
Vlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2003, 07:57 PM   #3
Jim Keenan
User

I am not sure if it is still in print, but Lugers at Random, by Charles Kenyon, has a lot of good info and pictures. Most Luger books are written purely for collectors and deal with the various types and markings; there is almost nothing (at least in English) about production techniques, repair, or the actual functioning of the pistol.

There are also many cheap (or maybe not so cheap) Luger books that simply reprint from the research of others. Because there is little factual information on some aspects of the pistol, some books are so full of speculation ("maybe this" and "possibly that") as to be about worthless. Mistranslations from the German are yet another matter which degrade otherwise worthwhile books.

Jim
Jim Keenan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2003, 08:28 PM   #4
Luke
User