LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > All Post-WWII Lugers

Unread 04-17-2016, 11:45 PM   #1
vietec
User

Default Will it hurt the value?

Hey guys, I'm not going to lie, I am completely new to Lugers. I just picked one up form a small town gun shop that was never fired, came from an old gentleman's collection (shop owner knew the widowed wife, and he was the original owner), and looks really new/unused.

Here are things I THINK I know about it:
-Obviously post war, thinking maybe 1970s by Mauser's stamp and the interarms stamp (believe it's called the American Eagle line, based on stamping)
-Missing the combination tool
-4" barrel model, in 9mm
-Looks like it's never even been loaded

Here is what I would like to know:
1) Will me firing it devalue it any, being that it's not a war gun?
2) What would you guys roughly appraise the value at?
3) Would you consider this a shooter, or a collector gun?
4) Should I run lighter (115gr winchester/federal/blazer) or heavier (thinking 124gr or 147gr stuff) rounds in it IF I shoot it?
5) Is there any special care that I sohuld be aware of for it besides the usual newer guns treatment? I imagine I should always take care to wipe off the firearm with some silicon lube or something to neutralize the acids from my hand.

Here's some pictures, because obviously it would help:

Thanks guys, I know that you probably get these kinds of questions everyday. I have been digging but can only seem to find info on war era guns.
vietec is offline   Reply With Quote
The following member says Thank You to vietec for your post:
Unread 04-18-2016, 12:47 AM   #2
lugerholsterrepair
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Thanked 3,099 Times in 1,426 Posts