LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 02-24-2013, 01:45 PM   #1
bubbapug1
User

Default Newbie question on my first luger

I bought this last night. I have been looking for a luger for a while. I am not going to disclose the price so I don't get the internet hazing which always comes with pricing.

This gun is a DWM 1916, with a 4" barrel. The barrel has just a light bit of pitting, and the rifling is worn some, but its shiney and consistant. I was pleasently surprised to look down it.

The parts are all matching as the gun was being cleaned when I looked at it. All parts except the mag that is. Even the grips are matching.

I am new to Luger ownership and was wondering if there are any types on maintaining this gun or any special precautions I should take with it.

bubbapug1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-24-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
alanint
User

Thanked 1,916 Times in 1,192 Posts

Welcome to the foum!

It looks like an all matching, original finish collector gun so the first advice you will probably hear is "don't shoot it", as this makes a matching, broken part more likely.
There are a number of "stickies" here on the sight that will walk you through basic cleaning, lubrication ans storing. There are good disassembly videos on YouTube.
alanint is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-24-2013, 03:54 PM   #3
bubbapug1
User

Bummer, can I shoot it once or twice? I think maybe 20 rounds to at least know if I want a shooter luger? I don't really enjoy my P38 compared to the comforts of a modern day gun, but I have found a Tokarev to be nice except for that horrible thin front site.

I will post some better pics tonight. There are a lot of proof marks on the gun, but I can't put the history together based on those marks. I know some here probably can.
Unread 02-24-2013, 05:09 PM   #4
alanint
User