LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 07-27-2001, 11:29 AM   #1
Mike

Default Grading lugers

I am new to Luger collecting and am wondering just how subjective the grading of collectibles is. How do you determine whether a gun is 98% blue or only 95%? How do you determine whether the straw is 95% or only 90%. How do you determine whether the barrel is excellent, very good or just good. Are there collectors/dealers who you can ship your gun to and have it graded?

Unread 07-27-2001, 02:43 PM   #2
BCC

Default Re: Grading lugers

This was discussed a short while ago and did not seem to be resolved. I took the time to measure the exterior surface area of a 4inch barrel military Luger and came up with about 24 inches of blued area on a strawed 08 and about 25-26 inches on an all salt blued 08. At this point one simply needs to measure the LxW of any worn area/areas and add them up and subtract from total possible area. This takes the snake oil out of the deal and keeps everyone honest. Personally I think the whole "percent" mentality has reached ridiculous heights and I simply look at the piece inside and out and determine if it appears to be honest and a good example. The ability to fake and enhance finishes has been perfected and the collector demand for 99% condition has resulted in more "nice" Lugers around now than there was in 1945! On your last question, there are no certified Luger condition appraisers as in coin collecting (thank heavens) and IMO it is best if each collector learns to do this on their own.

Unread 07-27-2001, 03:03 PM   #3
Mike

Thanks, that helps me understand. Do you have any guidance on grading of barrel condition? Is it a good idea (I mean does it increase the value)to remove and "clean" the wooden grips on a collectible piece?

Unread 07-27-2001, 05:15 PM   #4
BCC