LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Repairs, Restoration & Refinishing

Unread 12-16-2016, 08:12 PM   #1
DocSkunk
User

Default Stopping Rust

I have went back a number of pages on the gunsmithing section of the forum and cant find a good thread on this topic.

I have posted pictures of my 1916 artillery luger and a few ideas have popped up on how to stop the rust from eating this pistol but nobody explained how to do this.

I was told to use several liquids from penetrating oil to paint thinner. then hit it with some wire brushes and 0000 steel wool. With no explanation. Im still new to this whole historical old firearms and i dont want to muck it up.

Could someone explain to me a step by step on rust stopping and removal. Do i take the grips off and fill a pan with Liquid Wrench or paint thinner or kerosene and drop the gun in as a whole or in parts? How long? Do i soak the steel wool in oil or run it dry? What happens if the bluing all comes off from soaking it? Can the bluing come off all together if done wrong? ect. ect.

I know its a 1916 and wasnt very common but not rare. Just want to save it. maybe take it out and shoot it once. Save the history and pass the pistol on to my kids if i have them. Also want to remove some rust from a m1912 Styer Hahn "Hammer".

(if there as a thread hidden way back on this i apologize.)

Hail Odin the All Father and Hail Tyr may they bless my weapons of war and keep my aim true.

Looking for mag:
SN 7887
SN 6728

Have:
SN 1207 wood bottom.
SN 6024
DocSkunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-16-2016, 10:27 PM   #2
DonVoigt
User

Thanked 4,350 Times in 2,040 Posts

This is the kind of "stuff" you should learn by doing! You are not going to do much harm to that pistol if you follow the advice already given on your other posts. Neglect and time had done the harm, now you can only improve it!