LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 02-14-2001, 01:28 PM   #1
Artsi
User

Default handloading 9mm ammo

Hi

I'm new to 9mm P08 pistol, just got my piece less than a month ago.

Am I right believing that originally the 9mm ammo around the 1st World War era was pretty lame by today's standards? Was is not like about 1000fps with a 124grain bullet?

I briefly flipped through annual 2001 issue by Guns&Ammo Magazine where they feature P08's on 5 pages. There they claim today's 9mm ammo being downloaded from the long gone days era thus resulting in feeding jams when shot in a P08 pistol. They suggest P08 owners to find +P loaded 9mm ammo to achieve a glitch free feeding.

I feel the Guns&Ammo got it wrong here.

I was advised by many local shooting enthusiasts that I'd need to seek a stronger spring to my P08 that operates the toggle assy. This way I'd avoid breaking my precious pistol since it really is built to handle only weak ammo and todays ammo is a lot hotter.

I've shot handloaded 124grain ball ammo that clocks about 900fps. I am going to use my pistol in a certain shooting sports that requires shot ammo to achieve pre-determined power level. I have to load 124gr ammo to about 1050fps. Right now I have a shortened spring from a Russian bolt action rifle. The spring measured 15 lbs/inch on a special spring compression gauge.

This spring seems to be pretty spot on for ammo at about 850-900fps. Over 950fps ammo does really make the spent cases to exit from gun in a fairly energetic way, indicating substantially increased bolt/toggle velocity before it crashes to halt at the end of it's rearward travel.