LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 11-24-2001, 09:40 PM   #1
Jay Newman
User

Default Grip renovation

Since I am new to Luger collecting, I may have a stupid question. If I have the original grips of a collectable Luger renovated, will this have any effect on the value of the pistol? Would appreciate any insight anyone can give me.

Unread 11-24-2001, 11:34 PM   #2
Art Buchanan

Default Re: Grip renovation

You are about to have 10 guys tell you not to do it! But before you decide. What do you consider a collectable Luger? What model is it? What is blue and metal conditon? What condition are grips now? Do you want to just clean oil and dirt from grips? Please don't use the Murphy Soap and water method. Do they in your opinion require checkering to be sharpened? [I did't say rechecker-just improve what is there] It is your Luger and obviously you want the grips to look better. Go for it. Feel free to email for more detailed info.

Unread 11-25-2001, 01:28 AM   #3
mlm

Tricky thing to do right. Have a very experienced grip guy do any recheckering. Bad recheckering is easy to spot and often can't be fixed.

Unread 11-25-2001, 10:43 AM   #4
Johnny Peppers
User

Also, don't over renovate your grips. Razor sharp checkering that is suppose to be 60 to 100 years old is a dead giveaway that they are not original.

Unread 11-25-2001, 11:08 PM   #5
Jay Newman
User

Thanks Art, M/M and Johnny for your feedback. Very good advice from all of you. Jay

Unread 11-26-2001, 06:43 PM   #6
BILL
User

Art, what is it about the Murphy's soap method that you find objectionable? I know that it is listed in the FAQ and would like to hear why you give it a resounding thumbs down?

Unread 11-26-2001, 06:52 PM   #7
Mikey
User