LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 09-04-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
Jim53
User

Default Trigger function

I am new to Lugers and to this forum so forgive me if this question has been covered somewhere else here. I finally got to take my two new (to me) Lugers to the range yesterday. A 1920 DWM commercial in .30 Luger and a 1916 Erfurt 9mm. Both are original with matching numbers. The DWM shot as expected with a crisp and predictable trigger. When I shot the Erfurt for the first time the trigger pull was so heavy I thought perhaps the firing pin hadn't reset. Keeping in mind I have never before fired a Luger. My questions are how do the triggers work on these pistols? Could one or more springs be worn out causing this heavy trigger pull condition or is this a common thing for Lugers? And lastly, if I change the springs would it decrease the value of the pistols? I don't plan to shoot the 1916 very often but would like to enjoy them. Thanks for any help.

Jim
Jim53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2011, 12:55 PM   #2
Railsplitter
User

To describe the interplay of the trigger, trigger lever and sear bar that takes place when one pulls the trigger on a luger would get rather wordy (if I tried to do it). It may help to watch the animation on the home page of this forum and try to see the sequence of :
1) Trigger pulls back.
2) Trigger lever pushes inward on forward end of sear bar.
3) Back end of sear bar rotates "outward" and releases firing pin.