LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 09-23-2001, 01:55 AM   #1
Mark M.
User

Default OT: Taurus PT-145 Slides

This is directed to the metalergistists on this site from denfoote. I have recently purchased a Taurus PT-145. I have been in a discussion with Mark M regarding the slide composition. The pistol in question is available in both blued steel and stainless. My specimen is in blued and Mark M has the choice of the two steels. I say that the blued is stronger. That the stainless steel in a short barreled, short recoil simi-auto pistol will result in galling of the slide, and frame. Which should he buy???? Even though I am only an electronic engineering technician, I have had mechanics of materials cources in my academic background. I am a poster on the sister site. I do not as yet own a Luger, but I would like to tap into your vast knowledge of metals science. This pistol was designed as a close quarters personal defense weapon and the integrity of the components are crucial. (notwendig!!!!!) In this time of national crisis the choice of a personal defense weapon becomes important!!!

Unread 09-23-2001, 06:05 AM   #2
Marvin
User

Default Re: OT: Taurus PT-145 Slides

Mark,