LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 03-08-2001, 02:14 PM   #1
George F

Default S42, 1936, P-08 original?

A friend of mine has a P-08 for sale in which I might be interested. The problem is that I am not sure it is in all original condition. The pistol is an S/42, 1936 dated, example. Serial is in the 80xx range. All numbers match except for the mag. Finish "appears" original and is similar to other P-08 manufactured in those years. However, trigger, ejector, safety lever etc. are not oxidized. They are blued or, possibly, heat blued. That's what puzzle me as I have often read that these parts were oxidized during the years 1934-38 on Mauser manufactured P-08. Yet, my friend insists his P-08 is all original. Is it possible that this pistol is a subvariation? I am no expert in Lugers and your opinion would be much appreciated. Thanks you all in advance. Regards.

Unread 03-08-2001, 02:44 PM   #2
Ted
User

Default Re: S42, 1936, P-08 original?

My guess it is a recent dip blued gun! That is a military vintage gun and I bet it is salt blued. I have seen some salt blues that really looked almost rust blued! Ted

Unread 03-08-2001, 04:14 PM   #3
Joe DeLong

I would concur with Ted, and add that the parts that should be "strawed" have probably been re-done at some time, and they let the heat get away from them allowing the parts to become darker; going to blue. There were no "sub-variations" on these pistols regarding the finish practices. I base this on 40+ years of collecting, repair, and re-build of Luger pistols.

Unread 03-08-2001, 05:11 PM   #4
mac

If those small parts are not a "urine" yellow or worn to unfinished steel, and are blued, the pistol has been refinished at some time.