LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 11-30-2015, 07:30 AM   #1
james127
User

Default Help on Buying 1st Luger

I'm going to admit right off the bat that I'm a novice when it comes to Lugers (hence my posting on the New Collectors Forum). I collect a lot of WWII items and have been wanting to buy a Luger for awhile now and have been trying to learn more about them. I may have the opportunity to buy one or two soon and was hoping to gather a bit of wisdom before I make the purchase.

One of the Lugers is being sold as a 41 BYF Black Widow with matching numbers and the other (pictured with the holster) is a DWM that is believed to be a build up (no numbers). Based on what little I know, I don't think that either one is a Black Widow. I apologize for the poor quality of the pictures. I'll be seeing them in person this coming week and will get better pics, but based on what you see, a.) can you tell what exactly I'm looking at and b.) what would be a fair price to pay.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	luger3.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	43.8 KB
ID:	54420  

Name:	luger4.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	54421  

Name:	luger5.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	54422  

Name:	luger6.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	54423  

Name:	luger7.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	54424  

Attached Images

james127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2015, 08:20 AM   #2
Neil Young
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Welcome to the forum. You will be able to get answers to your questions here, but it will take much more information and much better photographs. The current photos are not clear enough to be useful.
Unread 11-30-2015, 08:47 AM   #3
Mac Cat
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

if you can't get better photos, try to get the full serial number and suffix for each pistol.