LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 10-17-2015, 09:54 PM   #1
Ozzilla
User

Default Looking at the following Luger

Hello,
I am a Luger newbie.

I am interested in bidding on the following Luger that will be offered at a local auction soon.

The auctioneers posted the following description:
Mauser Model P08 Luger. Serial # 7502N. 9mm caliber semi auto pistol. 4” barrel with a very good bore that has some roughness. Should clean up pretty good. Gun is marked S/42 and dated 1936. All numbers match. 90% plus bluing with some areas of rust on the left side. Probably from laying in a holster. Very little straw colors remain. Clip does not match and has been nickel plated long ago. Wooden grips in very good to excellent condition. An honest Luger with honest wear.

Only pictures posted:

I would greatly appreciate any tips on what to look for and a fair price to pay. I will be able to inspect it before the auction. I am going to ask if the left grip can be removed to inspect for additional rust and also matching numbers.

Any info would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,
Barry
Ozzilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2015, 10:41 PM   #2
DavidJayUden
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

Thanked 1,414 Times in 887 Posts

Barry:
Prepare yourself because Lugers usually bring more than they are worth at public auction. You just don't sneak up on Lugers at public auction. Then the buyer has to pay sales tax, FFL transfer fee, and a bidder's premium.
A collector to collector price would probably be around $1200, a store retail might go $1500+, all assuming things are right under the grips, inside the breach block, etc. I'm going to speculate here to guess that it will bring more than that at auction.
Take a long look at 1936 Lugers at Simpsons, Ltd. web site for good comparison.