LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Repairs, Restoration & Refinishing

Unread 11-02-2013, 12:32 AM   #1
spitzer
New User

Default What is value of this Luger?

Newbie here. First post and may be new owner of this Luger What can you tell me about it and the finish? I know it's a Mauser in 7.65. This is all the pictures that was sent to me, I will look at it in person this next week.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lugera.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	37228  

Name:	luger1a.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	37229  

Name:	luger2a.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	65.2 KB
ID:	37230  

Name:	luger3a.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	37231  

spitzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2013, 01:54 AM   #2
ithacaartist
Twice a Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Thanked 2,478 Times in 1,320 Posts

Welcome Spitzer, you've come to the right place to research a Luger! It sounds as if you have the chance to buy this gun, and I think you'll receive enough guidance here to make a reasonable decision as to whether you will take over stewardship of her. I'll get you started off with some of my observations, and others will undoubtedly contribute theirs tomorrow.

I can see faint number on the side plate, which would indicate it's military. But the 7.65 caliber would be incorrect, as all military were 9mm.

The finish does look strange IMO. Can't really tell much from the pics--they make it look completely in the white. Maybe finished with silver Cerakote? Is there such a thing as silver Parkerizing? My spidey sense is tingling because this appears to be a very strangely refinished gun. Anyway, terrible pics--blurry and badly lit.

The grips are not original to the gun.