LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > General Discussion Forums > Off Topic & Other Firearms

Unread 06-02-2005, 05:23 AM   #1
DougT
User

Default Gun safe questions

Hello everyone,

I need to buy an honest-to-goodness gun safe. The inexpensive "security cabinet" that I've been using for many years has gone into a state of overflow, and some of my guns are worth too darn much to be in anything less than a real safe. I've checked them out on the internet, but that seemed to raise more questions than it answered. Would anyone care to comment and perhaps make recommendations?

DougT
DougT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2005, 07:00 AM   #2
George Anderson
Lifer
Lifetime Forum
Patron

Thanked 2,528 Times in 787 Posts

Doug, two things, make sure it's big enough and be sure the seller will deliver and place it.
George Anderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2005, 08:02 AM   #3
Pete Ebbink
User

Hi Doug,

Here is a good informational article about what to consider when buying a safe :

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articl...49/ai_94765136

I have settled on the 20"x20"x60" sized safes. They are easy to move yet can still be bolted to a concrete floor and can even be bolted/ganged together, side-by-side. I usually pick mine up at the Reno gun show (out of box specials) for around $ 300...brand is Liberty (correction on 6-4-5 : Brand is American Security).

Regards,

Pete...
Pete Ebbink is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2005, 09:18 AM   #4
policeluger
RIP

Remember Doug, you must buy a California approved safe.
policeluger is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2005, 09:22 AM   #5
Edward Tinker
Super Moderator
Eternal Lifer
LugerForum
Patron

Thanked 4,523 Times in 2,089 Posts

Rick, excellent reply,

Seriously, I also feel that a safe protects against accidental wetness, i.e. water break, house fire and the water that comes with it...