LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 05-05-2010, 08:07 PM   #1
beetledude
User

Default How to take pics of guns & other small items (macro photography)

Hi There. *** edited 5/5/2010 -- add a section on cropping and resizing***

I'm new to collecting and have been using this board as a great resource on evaluating items that I've added to my collection. In a recent thread, several members asked for tips on how I take pictures of items I post up here. For example:

and

Since the members here have been so helpful in providing information on my firearms, I happy to share with you my technique on taking pictures. The best part is, you can achieve similar results using items around the house!

Please note that I am NOT a professional, just someone who likes to dabble with equipment (like cameras and guns ) I'm sure there are many on this board who can take waaaay better pictures than what I am presenting here.

With that being said, here's how I do it.

General Overview
For me, there are three key elements to getting good close-up photos (sometimes called Macro photography). The three key elements are 1) Indirect Lighting, 2) Use of a tripod, 3) White Balance adjustment.

To understand why these elements are key, let's use a typical shot taken with a digital camera. This is typically what you see posted:

What's wrong with this picture? Well the first problem is that the use of the flash gives it a very "harsh" look. In addition, all of the detail gets blown out, we cannot see any of the serial #s or judge the condition of the finish accurately.

Now some people realize they can't get good shots using the flash so they turn it off, resulting in a picture that looks like this: