LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > Lugerforum Archive

Unread 04-10-2001, 07:36 PM   #1
DL

Default S/42 questions

Hello, this is my first post, and I appreciate any help given, as I am no expert.I was referred here by another board.

Just curious about special features , if any, to look for on an S/42 Luger, marked 1939? This pistol was a WWII bring-back by my cousin and no alterations have been done. It has good original blue, no rust, wooden checkered grips in excellent condition, four inch bbl, with shiny bore, four digit serial with all matching parts, including the magazine (aluminum base). There are three proof marks eagle wings I think, on the pistol right side of the bbl, as referenced in your tech info here. Markings are all visible. Appears to be three tiny numbers under the bbl near the serial..maybe 882?

The holster is brown, with clamshell flap , but am told it is unusual with three loops inside for mags. It has a name written in faded ink on the exterior with a serial # beginning in ASA. The same name is inside, apparently in white shoe polish.

It is not for sale, but what would make this one anything special? Hope to hear from someone. Thanks, DL

Unread 04-10-2001, 08:17 PM   #2
Frank
RIP
Patron
LugerForum
Patron

Default Welcome DL

Your pistol sounds like a collector piece to me. The 1939 code S42 is one of the more difficult of later Mauser (S42 is a code for Mauser) Military Lugers to find. There were less that 40000 of this variety made. It is also nice to have a matching magazine which increases the value of the weapon. I would caution you against shooting it. If it is a collector grade and something would get broken or dinged up the value would decrease rapidly. If you could post a photo of your holster, I think the forum would be interested in seeing it. Hope this helps!!

Unread 04-10-2001, 11:05 PM   #3