LugerForum Discussion Forums my profile | register | faq | search
upload photo | donate | calendar

Go Back   LugerForum Discussion Forums > Luger Discussion Forums > New Collectors Forum

Unread 09-26-2005, 12:25 AM   #1
Sundance
New User

Default DWM vs. Mauser

I am new to Lugers, and looking for a nice condition gun that I can also shoot. I saw two yesterday at a gun show that caught my eye, but I realized I was not sufficiently informed to make a buying decision. The guns I saw were a 1937 DWM and a 1938 Mauser - both were military, with all matching numbers except magazines.

I've read that the DWM guns were among the best made (in terms of fit and finish), but in another book I read that Mausers are thoght to be the best shooters (whatever that means). Both guns were in very good cosmetic condition, and in the $1,200-$1,300 range.

I realized I haven't provided a lot of information here, but in general do people think this is the sort of gun at the sort of a price that would be a good first Luger?

Any input or opinions would be appreciated!
Sundance is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-26-2005, 02:22 AM   #2
Dwight Gruber
User

Thanked 1,281 Times in 423 Posts

Depends on what you mean by "nice condition". A Luger which is worthy for a collection and a Luger which is good for shooting do not exist in the same weapon. This statement is my opinion, and many people will not agree with it.

DWM did not make Lugers in 1937, so there is more to that gun than your basic description relates.

Some folks would say, Collect the Imperial guns, Shoot the Mausers. There are two reasons for this.

One, there is more collector value in the earlier guns than in the WWII Lugers. Frankly, the value distinction between the two eras is pretty much vanishing, and this is beconimg a non-issue.