LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   Navy Lugers (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=134)
-   -   Fake 1916 Navy on Gunbroker! (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=40403)

Norme 05-30-2020 07:47 PM

Fake 1916 Navy on Gunbroker!

For beginners only, what's wrong with this gun?
Norm
https://www.gunbroker.com/item/867198655

gunbugs 05-30-2020 10:00 PM

I always feel like a beginner here, so I'll take a stab. Crown M proofs are spaced too far apart and also, the crown N seems strange. Although, the crowns aren't "floating" over the "M". Plus, it appears the link retaining pin is blued over, instead of in the white.

gunnertwo 05-31-2020 02:53 AM

A 1916 with no chamber date? Backwards C / N ?

G2

Kiwi 05-31-2020 09:16 AM

I do not see the rear sight adjustable for range

Proofed 05-31-2020 09:38 AM

front sight blade is ridged all the way to the top

Mac Cat 05-31-2020 09:52 AM

The "N" is backwards

Norme 05-31-2020 10:05 AM

Come on guys, this gun has more red flags than a Moscow May Day parade!
Norm

gunnertwo 05-31-2020 04:12 PM

Obi-Wan Kenobi,

Please school these many Padawns.

G2

Norme 05-31-2020 05:55 PM

2 Attachment(s)
O.K. guys, you did pretty good, not great, but pretty good:

gunbugs, you get a point for the blued toggle retaining pin.

gunnertwo, you get a point for noticing the missing chamber date, but you lose a point for not noticing that the date is missing from the front sight base as well!

Proofed, you get 3 points for noticing that the front sight is serrated all the way to the top not 2/3 of the way up as it should be (see photos). However, I have to deduct a point for not noticing that the base is undated.