LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   New Collectors Forum (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Black Widow Authentication (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=42160)

Shobbs 05-10-2023 12:17 PM

Black Widow Authentication

5 Attachment(s)
Hello all,

I’m brand new to this forum as I was looking for a place to read up and get some opinions. I’ve been collecting milsurps for a few years now, but I’m fairly new to Lugers. An opportunity for an all matching black widow came up for a fairly good price, but I would love some opinions and input. Thanks everyone for your time! Cheers!

Mac Cat 05-10-2023 01:36 PM

Welcome to the forum.
Thanks for sharing your luger.

Taking useful photos is quite a challenge on lugers. It's more helpful to post high resolution images and use strong lighting, like outdoors. Using a darker background will help get your camera to open up for more lighting. Then we can start looking at all the numbered parts and hopefully, the inside details, as well.

It looks like you have a 41 byf Mauser, but I can't tell for sure without seeing the top view, with the chamber and toggle stamps.

Eugen 05-10-2023 07:05 PM

Welcome to the club!

Read the FAQ section as there is a wealth of info there for new owners.

Have heard of the hot pin test for the grips? Thats the way you can determine if the grips are original or repos. A hot pin will melt repop (plastic) grips. You test on the back side. Read about the procedure before testing yours.

I have a 1942 Byf with original black grips.

Shobbs 05-10-2023 07:54 PM

Hello, thanks a bunch for the tip on the FAQ’s. There’s some great information in it. With the pistol I posted I’m really trying to tell if it has been refinished or not. I’m leaning towards yes, but wish it had a bit better lighting.

gunnertwo 05-10-2023 10:36 PM

Seth, welcome to the Forum, great and helpful collectors here.