LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   Artillery Lugers (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=125)
-   -   1917 Artillery (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=26475)

GeorgeA 07-06-2011 10:23 PM

1917 Artillery

4 Attachment(s)
Newbie here, thought I'd share my grandfather's captured Luger from WW I. As a South African studying at Cambridge, he joined the Royal Garrison Artillery and served in France, winning the Military Cross and bar. At some point he captured this pistol, which is a 1917 artillery model, serial 4181. It's all original, with the holster stock, cleaning rod and tool.

I'd be interested to get any information and history about this particular weapon, if anyone can help. Let me know if you want more pics.

Norme 07-07-2011 12:13 AM

Hi George, Welcome to the forum! Thanks for showing us pictures of your beautiful 1917 Artillery. We'd love to see photos of the stock and holster too. Unfortunately there is no way we can help you with this gun's history, you already know more than we can possibly tell you. Regards, Norm

MFC 07-07-2011 01:14 AM

Hi George,
Welcome to the forum. The full S# is 4181c. Very nice artillery Luger with front and rear fine tune sights. Fine tune sights began to be fazed out during 1917.
Thanks for posting. More pics please!!!

cirelaw 07-07-2011 11:17 AM

A real pretty piece!

John Sabato 07-07-2011 02:15 PM

Let me add my welome to the forum and please do grace us with additional photos of this fine example of a 1917 Artillery Model.

GeorgeA 10-09-2011 02:36 PM

Holster Photos

3 Attachment(s)
Finally got around to taking some pics of the holster. Let me know if there are any details of interest and I'll take some more.

I am concerned that the leather needs some TLC. So I'd welcome advice on this topic, as I don't want to do the wrong thing.

Neil Young 10-09-2011 02:45 PM

Absolutely beautiful rig. Thanks for sharing.

Neil