LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   New Collectors Forum (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Unknown Luger - Seeking knowledge (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=42008)

AMDO_Mark 12-05-2022 09:37 PM

Unknown Luger - Seeking knowledge

10 Attachment(s)
Greetings,

Thank you for having me. I come as a complete novice to Luger pistols seeking information on a family heirloom that belonged to my late Grandfather, a retired USN AOC type who likely picked subject pistol on one of many deployments.

Not knowing better, the engraved markings (alphanumeric characters spaced by periods) may indicate/identify unit markings... maybe a presentation piece modified pre WWII?

Enough speculation, just wanted to leave some pictures and ask if this pistol has identifying features you folks may be familiar with... thank you in advance!

// Updated 12/8/2022 - additional photos //

HerrKaiser 12-05-2022 10:17 PM

That is a unit mark and engraving is not original. It looks like it is a DWM pistol. But more pictures will be needed. See the forum FAQ for some other helpful information. The fact that it is a family heirloom should make it priceless as is for you. Welcome!

Best,

Mac Cat 12-05-2022 11:07 PM

Welcome to the forum.

Your Luger is interesting.

There isn't enough visible to help you identify it further.
You will need to provide high quality photos of the top, front, both sides at the very least to find out much more.

AMDO_Mark 12-06-2022 07:26 AM

Thank you all for your guidance. I'll grab some additional photos to help with determining. Any areas or internal parts of interest that would help if visible?

kkiley 12-06-2022 07:26 AM

Looks like 58th regiment 1st company 27 waffen machine gun company Kevin

AMDO_Mark 12-08-2022 09:47 AM

Added some additional photos to the original post above, hopefully these are helpful.