LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   Unit Markings (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=137)
-   -   marking "G.P.O.2" on 1913 Erfurt police (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=39840)

Joe in Colorado 08-20-2019 06:18 AM

marking "G.P.O.2" on 1913 Erfurt police

5 Attachment(s)
I'm new to Erfurt and Police Luger markings, could a member please ID this marking? Thank you, Joe
PS: Has the takedown lever been remarked? The type style of the numbers is slightly different.

DonVoigt 08-20-2019 09:57 AM

TD lever- a likely replacement, as you point out- different font, and no Erfurt acceptance mark.

G.P. is GemeindePolizei according to Don Maus in History Writ in Steel; the O. could be Osnabrueck.

On page 319 he lists G.P.O.1. , also an early P08 with no lug, including its holster, matching mags.

Joe in Colorado 08-20-2019 06:53 PM

Thank you Don, and an important follow-up question please. If the TD lever was replaced during the pistol's military or police service life it would not bother me so much as if it were a forgery or mismatched part number re-matching over the years with a non-Erfurt part. Have you seen parts arsenal replaced with the correct number but different font applied and of course no original Erfurt proof mark? Thank you again! Joe

Edward Tinker 08-20-2019 07:29 PM

I'm not Don, but my 2 cents.
The wrong takedown lever could be refurb, could be post war replacement. It is very hard to ever know. Police lugers are given more latitude among collectors than say an army one.

Depending on the price and the pictures look very much like from a dealer, then I would say likely not cheap, but I like the unusual unit marking (rare, I have never seen one in person), very nice condition and the 1913 date.

Ed

DonVoigt 08-20-2019 10:56 PM

What Ed said. ;)

Joe in Colorado 08-21-2019 05:53 AM

Thank you both so very much!!!