LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   Commercial Lugers (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=123)
-   -   Gunbroker: EXCEPTIONAL DWM 1908 9MM LUGER W/EXTRA MAGAZINE, HOLSTER & TOOLS FULL RIG (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=40577)

briskspirit 09-03-2020 06:24 PM

Gunbroker: EXCEPTIONAL DWM 1908 9MM LUGER W/EXTRA MAGAZINE, HOLSTER & TOOLS FULL RIG

5 Attachment(s)
So I am still learning about different Lugers and looking at photos on GunBroker to understand which models are scarce and which are not.
I have found this one: https://www.gunbroker.com/item/877780340

Could you please educate me on what is so special about this Luger to price it like this? That's because of it's condition? Or something else?

Also how do you think is it restored or original condition? And seems that one of those mags is with modern mag bottom.

Thank you all and be safe!

P.S.: for those who don't want to check photos on the GunBroker: 10 days till the end of auction, currend bid $5580, 26 bids. Added a few photos to this topic.

G.T. 09-03-2020 06:45 PM

Condition! Condition! Condition!!!

First off, it looks original to me? Not mint, but about as close as the camera will let it be... Second, 1908 commercial is a popular item with commercial collectors. It was probably the zenith of their workmanship and probably a bit rare considering they were right on the verge of a huge military contract! When you have 99% + condition, and matching accessories that most likely have been with the gun its whole life, prices like this will appear. Check out his other stuff, all just as nice with high end multiple bids? If you ever wanted a lesson in condition dictating value, or cost.... this is a good one! Best to all, til....lat'r....GT......:jumper:

Pistol 09-03-2020 07:56 PM

Also, of interest, is that many of these were owned by officers.

Doubs 09-03-2020 08:01 PM