LugerForum Discussion Forums

LugerForum Discussion Forums (https://forum.lugerforum.com/index.php)
-   New Collectors Forum (https://forum.lugerforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   New to the Forum and to Lugers (https://forum.lugerforum.com/showthread.php?t=35482)

Topkick 03-24-2016 03:24 PM

New to the Forum and to Lugers

4 Attachment(s)
Hi folks. I'm new to the forum and I just purchased my first Luger. It's a DWM Weimar Police Pistol. It's not a collector piece (having been reblued) but it is all matching numbers except for the Magazine. I just bought the book "Lugers at Random" from a forum member here and was wondering if anyone can recommend additional books. This will probably be my one and only Luger, they are priced well out of my reach, but I've always wanted one. Also do you folks recommend that I get a spring replacement kit and upgrade the current springs. Sorry to ask so many questions, but my expertise is M1 Garands and like I said this is my first time owning a Luger. Thanks in advance for any help.Attachment 57440

Attachment 57441

Attachment 57442

Attachment 57443

Zorba 03-24-2016 04:30 PM

At the very least replace the main spring (recoil) if you're going to shoot it.

mrerick 03-24-2016 04:37 PM

It's an interesting Luger... 1920/1921 double date. Security police Berlin unit marking. The fit of the stocks makes it look like they were replaced when it was refinished.

It doesn't look like it was buffed to death either. Reasonably sharp edges look good.

If you replace the recoil spring, get the correct one. There is a table in the new FAQs.

Marc

alanint 03-24-2016 04:54 PM

Welcome to the forum! A nice Weimar era shooter.

I agree that the grips are modern reproductions, but they look good on the pistol.

DavidJayUden 03-24-2016 06:44 PM

It looks like the markings aren't compromised and the sharp edges remain after the re-blue job. A very nice shooter!